Indianapolis Colts Tickets

In 1953, the city of Baltimore was awarded a new National Football League franchise. The team was nicknamed the Colts, the second pro football club to bear that name in a seven-year period. Earlier in 1947, a Baltimore Colts team was founded in the All-America Football Conference. Three years later, as part of the peace agreement between the AAFC and NFL, the Colts became an NFL member. But this venture failed and the franchise was disbanded after the 1950 season.

But Baltimore was presented with a second chance for an NFL team three seasons later when the Dallas Texans franchise was cancelled by the league. NFL Commissioner Bert Bell challenged the city to sell 15,000 season tickets within six weeks. The successful sale took just over four weeks and, on January 23, 1953, Carroll Rosenbloom became the principal owner of the new Baltimore Colts. The 1958 NFL title clash against the New York Giants, played before the largest television audience ever up to that time, did much to increase fan enthusiasm for pro football. With Unitas craftily engineering long drives that led to the tying field goal and winning touchdown, the Colts won 23-17 in overtime.

Under Don Shula, who replaced Ewbank in 1963, the Colts won NFL Western conference championships in 1964 and 1968. Shula moved to Miami in 1970 but the Colts, who had moved to the new American Football Conference at the time of the merger, won the first AFC Eastern division title and Super Bowl V.

Baltimore, with Ted Marchibroda as coach, won three straight divisional titles in 1975, 1976 and 1977. The franchise then fell on hard times with a 19-53-1 record in the five years between 1978 and 1982. The Indianapolis Colts won the AFC East title in 1987 and 1999, and the AFC South in 2003 and 2004. With their consistent success, Indianapolis Colts tickets have risen to prominence in the NFL as has the team.
Hot Events Tickets